facebook twitter instagram linkedin google youtube vimeo tumblr yelp rss email podcast blog search brokercheck brokercheck

Email Me

M 503-703-6308
O 503-906-5202

Mike Bien

INVESTMENT ADVISoR REPRESENTATIVE


I was born and raised on the Naval Weapons Center in China Lake California. I guess you could say I spent 18 years in the US Navy. At the tender age of 5, my great grandfather gave me 25 shares of stock in Union Carbide, a large chemical company which has since been purchased by Dow Chemical. I remember waiting for that quarterly dividend check. In the mid 60’s, $25 was a lot of money to me.  I still own those shares. I went on to UCLA and received a degree in Biochemistry. I then went to work for a large Chemical Company as a Production Engineer making car paint. I always wondered if it was the stock that led me into the chemical industry or simply a coincidence. When my son, Patrick, turned 5, his great grandfather gave him shares of Berkshire-Hathaway. I am hoping it leads him into being like Warren Buffet.

After 10 years of travelling the world making car paint for PPG, I decided to take my Chemical Engineering skills to Nike and make shoes. This meant living overseas in Asia where my son was born. Once Patrick reached school age, we decided he needed a place to call home. In 1996, Nike transferred me back to their headquarters and Beaverton became the place we call home. Wanting to travel less and spend more time with my son, I eventually left Nike.

In 2004, after leaving Nike, I was looking at my two 401K accounts and various other holdings (remember I still own those Union Carbide shares), when I decided that I should know more about investing. I felt I could really save money by doing my own financial planning and I certainly had the time to learn how to do it properly. I found a broker/dealer willing to sponsor me into becoming an Investment Advisor. I found the licensing process to be very educational and it helped me greatly improve my own retirement plan. Part of the licensing process included finding and helping others (mostly friends and family) improve their current financial plans. Along the way, I found that I really enjoyed helping others design and develop their own family financial plan. With the support of those initial friends and family members, I embarked on a new career in Financial Services. I love sharing my experiences and believe they help me really personalize the plans I design. I have also found my engineering background allows me to think about contingencies and how to protect the overall integrity of the plan (think insurance).

When I am not working, I enjoy a variety of outdoor sports. I am a particularly avid golfer and compete in a variety of amateur events. I also have a brother who teaches skiing and one who is a master diver in Hawaii. I happen to believe having that hobby/sport, or activity which will keep you in shape both mentally and physically is an important part of a sound retirement plan.


Hobbies

Q & A

What is one word that describes you best and why?

Dependable. I can be counted on to get the job done and to be there when needed. 


If you could have one super power, what would it be?

Healing. I wish I could remove the pain and suffering of those around me. 


What are you most proud of?

My son. For everything that he has gone through, I am proud of the man he has become.

 

What’s on your bucket list?

I don’t have one. I am happy with the places I have been and the things I have done. I’m always open to trying something new or re-doing things I have enjoyed in the past. 


If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?

Right here, although it would be nice to have a winter home… maybe when I retire. 




This or That?

Spender or saver?

Saver.

Early riser or night owl?

Early Riser.

Chocolate or vanilla?

Chocolate.